february 17, 2023

dear lord this blog is janky

So, sorry about the rough-n-ready sort of blog setup I've got going on right now! I planned on making something that actually, yknow, worked today, but it turns out that will have to wait because I once again severely overestimated my capabilities. I've got a good excuse, though: just moved into a new house!

I'm a lot less excited about the whole ordeal than I thought I'd be (and probably should be) to be honest. I mean, I've lived in the same place for almost my entire life and definitely as long as I can remember, then I get told we're leaving with a couple months' notice. Crazy. But really, I've found I don't even care about it. Sort of just like that's happening and I'm just gonna go with it. New house is nice, liked the old one better, but I don't particularly miss it, and I'm not particularly excited. Weird.

Anyway, I'm really excited about finding Neocities. I'd vaguely heard of it before, but just checked it out yesterday, and that's when I knew I had to have one. I found Geocities so incredible; the thought of having, definitively, your own corner like that was very desirable, being in the current age of the Internet. Not to mention the unapologetically unconventional-at-best aesthetic of everything. I guess it's really a dream come true to be able to experience something similar. Plus, I've been wanting to learn to properly code for at least five years now. It might not be crazy data science or super-advanced machine learning, but frontend Javascript is real programming, and I'm so happy to be finally taking that step.

Here's to Neocities! And here's to hoping that this site lasts a good while.